Samuel Beneyto from Real Club Náutico de Gran Canaria is the winner followed by Arnau Gelpí from CN El Balís and by the Swedish Calle Lagerberg.

Due to bad weather conditions, strong winds and waves, the Race Committee decided, at 13:30 hours today, to end the competition.

Therefore, after four tests played in the previous days, the 31st edition of the AECIO Trophy has Samuel Beneyto, of the Real Club Nautico de Gran Canaria, its winner being more regular and leading every day in the water.

Who has also had a brilliant performance is the winner of the AECIO Trophy last year and second on this occasion, Arnau Gelpí of the CN El Balís. The third place goes to Sweden, as it is Lagerberg Street that occupies this position.

The first classified of the girls, is the Russian Alexandra Lukoyanova (who was eighth in the general), second the Canary Islander of the Real Club Nautical Carmen Losantos and third Julia of Juan.

Weather conditions became, along with the about 150 children from 7 countries, one more protagonist since Monday, December 26.

Team spirit was the keynote among all the girls and boys. The best results came to those who were favored by strong winds of more than 18 knots in some moments.

There are trophies for the first five ranked absolute, the first among the under 11 and 13, and the first three girls.

The AECIO Trophy plus the Canary Islands Cup to be held in Lanzarote from March 4 to 5, will serve to select the 20 members of the Canary team who will participate in the Spanish Cup.

Therefore, it’s included within the calendar of the Canary Islands Sailing Federation.

This Trophy is also the second regatta of the Circuit EXCELLENCE CUP which consists of a series of international races organized in Spain. Circuit that is directed by the National Optimist Class  Association and also belongs to the Calendar of the Real Federación Española de Vela.

In addition, the AECIO is included in the Canary Islands Circuit Optimist Class, composed of 4 regional qualifying regattas that are played during the season and one more that is held in Tenerife.

Share This:

Comments ( 0 )

    Leave A Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *